The Weary, Joyous Traveler

This Christmas break, I will arrive home after 14 and a half hours in the airport and on planes. [Hopefully, I’m still not home yet.] Over thanksgiving it took 22 hours to get home, but I finally arrived at two in the morning CO time and 4 am PA time. My poor parents! However let me tell you, I am currently excited and laughing. It’s so easy to get discouraged, but when I put it all in perspective, I’m doing just fine! Jesus still loves me and this life is oh so temporary. I’m learning to see these from an eternal perspective and I cannot explain how much happier it makes me.

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.

Philippians 4:6 NIV

It’s come to my attention that worrying is 100% a choice. Paul doesn’t tell us to try not to worry, he tells us not to worry. Meaning, it is in fact possible to not fret. I listened at a phenomenal podcast by Timothy Ateek about this concept and I felt challenged to take this realization to heart and apply it. To be honest, I didn’t think I’d be successful. Worrying comes as easy to me as fawning over cute children; it’s not second nature- it’s first. Our culture isn’t much of a help either; so many people spend their entire lives trapped in worry and every episode of every show is based on a many problem which all the characters then proceed to worry about.  blog-airport

I think we need to take our worries, view them as temporary, and look at them as opportunities to show love.  Stuck in the airport, I had the opportunity to treat the incredibly-stressed flight attendant warmly and wish her a merry Christmas. Not anything huge, but something kind. Inversely, since I didn’t make it home last night as planned, my friend’s parents sweetly picked me up and hosted me overnight. They were so loving to me and I got a chance to know them better and show them gratitude. I’m also sure there were a million and two more opportunities that didn’t take or didn’t see too.

I would like to acknowledge that all these worries mentioned here are pretty small in comparison with the trials so many others are facing, but the same principles of looking to Jesus and trusting Him apply. If you fulling trust Him, which I definitely recommend, show it by not fearing the outcome. These circumstances weren’t ideal, but by facing them with joy and confidence in the fact I’ll get home eventually, I feel I am seizing an opportunity to honor my God.

Much obliged to you for your time; have a cheery day!

Liney-ar Journey IMG_2951-0

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

